Louis D. Brandeis Privacy Awards

Patient Privacy Rights presented the first Louis D. Brandeis Privacy Awards at the 2nd International Summit on the Future of Health Privacy in Washington, D.C. on June 6, 2012.

The awards, presented during the Summit’s Celebration of Privacy, recognize individuals for their significant intellectual, cultural, legal, scholarly, and technical contributions to the field of health information privacy. Standing on the shoulders of Supreme Court Justice Louis D. Brandeis, these heroes have focused on ensuring that the “highest right of civilized man” remains the foundation for all electronic systems, as well as for law and policy governing the use and control of sensitive health information.

We are deeply honored that the family of Louis D. Brandeis placed their trust in Patient Privacy Rights to choose the recipients of this award, which recognizes great achievements in the protection of the most sensitive personal information of all: health information.

The 2015 Louis D. Brandeis Privacy Awards Ceremony will be held on Wednesday, June 3, 2015. For more information, please click here.

2012 Awardees:

The Honorable Joe Barton, U.S. Representative for Texas’s 6th Congressional District
The Honorable Ed Markey, U.S. Senator for Massachusetts
Ross Anderson, PhDUniversity of Cambridge Computer Laboratory
Alan F. Westin, PhD,  Advisor, Arnall Golden Gregory, Atlanta and Washington DC;  Professor of Public Law and Government Emeritus at Columbia University

Click below to watch the full program from the Celebration of Privacy.


2013 Awardees:

Peter J. Hustinx, European Data Protection Supervisor
Mark A. Rothstein, JD,  Herbert F. Boehl Chair of Law and Medicine, University of Louisville Brandeis School of Law 

Click below to watch Mr. Hustinx receive his award.

Click below to watch Mr. Rothstein receive his award.

2014 Awardees:

Latanya Sweeney, Chief Technologist; Federal Trade Commission
Peter Schaar, Chairman; European Academy for Freedom of Information and Data Protection (EAID), Germany

Click here to watch Ms. Sweeney receive her award.

Click here to watch Mr. Schaar receive his award.